Get To Know Your Chakras and Their Benefits



Chakra — might sound like a strange vocal exercise, but has the power to improve your body-mind connection.

If you’ve always wondered about the meaning of chakras but somehow found yourself typing ‘Netflix’ into google search instead, here’s your chance! Learning about your chakras will help you understand your body and mind even better.

“That’s just the vibe I get.”
You’ve probably either said or heard someone say this sentence before. The human body has its own energy and each person’s energy is unique and different – which is why people can sometimes give off a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ vibe. This energy is filtered through certain power centers that allow energy to flow freely through your body. These energy centers are known as Chakras.

There are a total of 7 Chakras in your body, each with a specific purpose.
The chakra centers start with the Root Chakra located at the base of the spine, moving up and ending with the Crown Chakra at the top of your head. All chakras can be opened and energized, with help from crystals or specific meditation exercises.

Knowing your chakras will allow you to specifically target certain points in your body with positive energy and use these tools to recharge your body, mind, and soul.

1. The Root Chakra [Muladhara]

To lead a balanced and happy life, the first step is having those basic survival needs met. Having shelter, food, money… all of this impacts how secure you feel in your daily life. That’s why the Root Chakra is also known as the foundational one and can be found at the base of the spine. If your Root Chakra is balanced you feel secure, calm and anchored in reality. If it is out of balance, however, you could feel anxious, panicked, lost or even threatened. The color associated with this chakra is red.

2. The Sacral Chakra [Svadhishthana]

Responsible for emotions, creativity, sexuality the Sacral Chakra is located below the navel. If it is out of balance you might find it difficult to empathize, experience emotional problems and lack of boundaries, even feel sexual guilt or shame. Creating a balance in your Sacral Chakra will ensure you channel a healthy attitude towards sex and relationships, giving you a boost in both artistic and reproductive creativity. This chakras color energy is orange.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra [Manipura]

The Solar Plexus Chakra is in charge of will-power, governs actions and balance, and is located just above the navel. Represented by the color yellow, this chakra is the center for personal power and commitment. When this chakra is in order you will have strength for inner balance, inspiration and aid you in letting go of bad habits and attachments. In situations when it is not in balance you might manifest negative emotions such as greed, anger, despair or shame.

4. The Heart Chakra [Anahata]

As you might have guessed, the Heart Chakra is the center for love and compassion and can be found at the center of the chest. A healthy and balanced Heart Chakra will fill your life with kindness, compassion, acceptance, forgiveness and love, removing all of your fears, worries and doubts. Signs that your chakra is out of balance are fear of rejection, strong drive to make others feel better while neglecting yourself, feeling stuck, feeling unworthy and having self-deprecating thoughts. The color attributed to the Heart Chakra is green.

5. The Throat Chakra [Vishuddha]

Located at the base of the neck, when the Throat Chakra is balanced you will be able to speak with kindness, love and truth. You’ll be able to inspire and enlighten others with your words, as you’ll know exactly the right ones to choose. If you find yourself unable to express emotions, shying away from speaking the truth or simply struggling for words, your Throat Chakra might be out of balance. The chakra color energy associated is blue.

6. The Third Eye Chakra [Ajna]

The Third Eye Chakra can be found just above and between the eyes, and has the energy color indigo. When properly balanced you’ll find yourself possessing great insight, awareness, perception, guidance and intuition. In case of your Third Chakra being blocked, you might be struggling to find a broader purpose to your life, struggle with depression and feel that all your actions are insignificant.

7. The Crown Chakra [Sahasrara]

As the highest chakra, the Crown Chakra, located just above your head, determines your spiritual connectivity. It’s also sometimes called the “thousand petal lotus” and has the chakra color purple. This chakra is vital in creating a life you love and achieving a sense of comfort and peace. It is connected with information, understanding, acceptance, bliss and knowledge of being one with the universe. Blockage to this chakra might manifest as psychological problems.

In case your chakras are out of balance, you might experience a range of both physical and psychological issues.

Whether you’re shaking your head in disbelief now, or already know this, there is one undeniable fact. When your chakras are out of balance you will feel off — you might feel badly but can’t think of why or how to fix it. You’ll find yourself feeling like something is missing, like you’re incomplete or lacking motivation for things you used to love.

You might also find yourself wondering how to re-energize specific chakra points – or all of them! Luckily, we’re one step ahead, and are working on a detailed guide to how to balance your chakras. Keep an eye out for our next blog post!

We’ve also designed a new piece of smart jewelry that will help you as you work on recharging your chakras. Enhanced with healing crystals, we’re excited to introduce you to our Leaf Chakra. The new member of the family comes in two unique editions: Leaf Chakra Love made with Rose Quartz and Leaf Chakra Power created with Black Onyx. Each with their own unique benefit we’ll be sharing with you in the following blogs!

If you still find yourself more towards the skeptical side, hopefully we’ve at least made you consider the possibilities and helped you open your mind to another way of balanced living.

Which chakra do you feel you struggle to keep in balance the most?

“It is through science that we prove, but through intuition that we discover.” – Henri Poincare